Those who got the Bangladesh Independence Award 2018


    Independence Day Award or the highest civilian award medal awarded by the Bangladesh government. This medal is being given on 26th March of Bangladesh’s Independence Day every year since 1977, in memory of the martyrdom of the Bangladesh Liberation War of 1971. This award is given to the person or group of Bangladeshi citizens, in recognition of the glorious and accomplished contribution of various government initiatives in the national life. Apart from this, the award is also given to institutions for significant contribution in the field of national life.

    Each medal has a 18-carat gold 50 grams weighted medal, an honorary certificate and a fixed amount of cash in the form of a repute. The amount paid initially was twenty thousand rupees, but from 013 to 200 million rupees was paid.

    Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina gave away the Independence Award to the hands of 18 prominent people
    Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina gave away the Independence Award to the hands of 18 prominent people. Photo:

    In 2018, 18 people were awarded the Independence Award 2018 for their outstanding contribution in national life; Out of which 10 posthumous honors were awarded.

    In the morning, on Sunday (March 25, 018), Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina gave the prizes to the medals of Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital.

    Those who received the award for the contribution of freedom and liberation war, are:
    Late Kazi Zakir Hasan,
    Martyr intellectual MMA Rashidul Hasan,
    Late Shankar Gobinda Chowdhury,
    Air Vice Marshal Sultan Mahmud Bir Uttam,
    Late M Abdur Rahim,
    Late Bhupati Bhushan Chowdhury alias Manik Chowdhury,
    Martyr Lieutenant Md. Anwarul Azim,
    Late Humayun Rashid Chowdhury,
    Shahid Amanullah Mohammad Asaduzzaman,
    Shahid Matiur Rahman Mallik,
    Shahid Sergeant Jahrul Haque and
    Amjadul Haque.

    Culture Minister Asaduzzaman Noor for special contribution to the field of culture and Shykh Seraj, the director of the Channel Eye (News) has been given this award.
    Professor Dr. AKMD Ahsan Ali in medical science, Professor AK Azad Khan in social service, Selina Hossain in literature and Dr. Md. Abdul Majid got the Independence Award for food security.